Aux Amandes

_DSC0336

I met Rachel of the blog Foodicity in a coffee shop/bakery in Montreal. Sitting in that coffee shop, during our conversations on our common love of food, Rachel suggested the shop’s croissant aux amandes. “They are so good”, she said. I had never heard of them. “They are absolutely delicious and you must give them a try”, I was told. On inquiry we learned that they had sold out and – “tant pis!” – that the next batch would be a long wait.

I had been visiting Montreal with the sole intention of eating French baked goods and shopping for a number of years.  Croissants aux amandes had never caught my attention until I was denied them that day. The next morning I went to  Premier Moisson, located in the rail station underneath the Fairmont Reine Eiizabeth, and ordered one with my coffee. My life was changed. I ordered another one that morning and one each morning of all the days we were in Montreal. Once I was back on my turf I just had to make them for myself.

For something so exquisite in taste the effort is so very minimal. They are buttery and rich in almond flavour, yet surprisingly they taste light and more-ish. Croissants aux amandes have became part of our Christmas breakfast and I have Rachel to thank for this addition to our tradition!

I am making the syrup and almond filling the day before, then assembling and baking the croissants in the morning. They are perfection.

Have a wonderful Christmas!

_DSC0340-001

Croissant aux Amandes

Ingredients:

  • Day old croissants: 8
  • Unsalted butter: 1 cup
  • Almond meal: 1 cup
  • Eggs: 2
  • Sugar: 1/2 cup, + 2 Tbsp
  • Vanilla essense: 1/4 tsp
  • Water: 1 cup
  • Sliced almonds: 1/4 cup
  • Confectioners sugar: For dusting

Method:

  • Slice the croissants horizontally and set aside.
  • Make a light sugar syrup by boiling 1 cup of water, 2 tbsp sugar and 1/4 tsp vanilla essence. Set aside.
  • Make the almond filling by mixing the butter, sugar and almond meal in a food processor. Add the eggs one by one until completely combined and the mixture turns nice and fluffy.
  • When ready to bake pre heat oven at 350F. Line a baking tray with parchment, set aside.
  • Take the bottom of the sliced croissants and lightly dip them in the prepared syrup and place them on the baking tray.
  • Spread about a tbsp of almond paste on the croissant.
  • Take the top half of the croissant and lightly dip them in sugar syrup and place them on the bottom half making a sandwich.
  • Spread about a tbsp of almond mixture on top and sprinkle the top with the sliced almonds.
  • Bake the prepared croissants for 15 min or so or until the top is a light golden colour.
  • Cool before dusting with powdered sugar and serve.

5 thoughts on “Aux Amandes

Leave a comment