The Taste of a New Home

_DSC0120

Partridgeberries are as new and old as Newfoundland to me. They resonate with how I feel about this little island that I call home. They grow on the tough rocky soil, low on the ground, and ripen as the summer draws to an end. They are the colour of gems that dynasties would fight for – brilliant, fiery, and rare. They taste tart at first – very tart and raw – but once you are past that jilted feeling you begin to savour the berry.  There’s truly nothing like it.

 _DSC0123_DSC0138

The first time I tasted a partridgeberry was in a muffin from a coffee shop as a student. They were tart to my untested taste buds and I didn’t think that flavour had a place in muffins … or anywhere else for that matter. When a partridgeberry muffin couldn’t be avoided, I ate around the bright red blotches. Then the partridgeberry pudding happened. Cooked by my mother-in-law and served with a generous drizzle of butter sauce – I could not refuse. This traditional Newfoundland dessert has grown to be a keeper, forever.

_DSC0133 _DSC0151

Over Christmas I know I will long for a slice of this pudding floating on warm rum sauce, and when the pudding is devoured and there is sauce left on my plate I know I would look for more pudding – it’s just the way it goes.

_DSC0153

Partridgeberry pudding with rum sauce

Ingredients:

  • Flour: 4 cups
  • Eggs: 2
  • Sugar: 2 cups
  • Butter: 1/2 cup
  • Baking powder: 3 tsp
  • Partridgeberries: 2 cups (may be substituted with fresh cranberries)
  • Orange juice: 1 cup
  • Orange zest: from 1 orange

Rum Sauce:

  • Butter: 1 cup
  • Clotted cream: 1/2 cup
  • Sugar: 1 cup
  • Vanilla: 1/2 tsp
  • Rum: 2 tbsp or more

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • Melt butter and let cool slightly. Add eggs, orange juice and orange zest.
  • Mix sugar, flour, baking powder together, and partridgeberries then add to egg mixture.
  • Mix with wooden spoon until everything comes together.
  • Bake for 60 to 75 minutes or until inserted skewer comes out clean.
  • For Rum Sauce, add all ingredient together except for rum and bring to boil, stirring constantly.
  • Once boils, lower heat to medium and stir for a few minutes.
  • Take off heat, add rum and let sauce cool at room temperature.
  • Serve warm over partridgeberry pudding.
17 thoughts on “The Taste of a New Home

  1. Another beautiful post. Truly delicious. The rum sauce is a fantastic consistency.

    On a separate note, a chap I know here in Dublin has been offered employment in St. Johns. He has a young family and is thinking hard about it. He would love to hear about life in St. Johns. If convenient, could you pop me a mail at conorbofin at gmail dot com? Only if it suits.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. came to tell you that you inspired me to bake some meringue mushrooms and for the first time I tried baking meringues and they are way tooooo delish. this pudding looks wonderful too. love the idea of sauce dredging it.

  3. Hello! I visited Newfoundland in September and discovered partridgeberries – and had very much the same reaction as you had. The food of NL is amazing.

    Your photos are stunning.

    Partirdgeberries are apparently ligonberries in Europe. I imagine that cranberries would make a good substitute – I will definitely try this recipe.

    This picture and the two following are of my NL partridgeberry experience:
    Newfoundland - Partridgeberries 1

    The berries weren’t quite ready where ever I went so I was disappointed that I couldn’t bring home a jar of this year’s jam.

    Warm regards,

    Jane

    • How absolutely lovely are those photos of the partridgeberries. I took a few pictures of them year before last but last summer they were picked before I went. Yes, Newfoundland is a pretty awesome place with beautiful people and amazing food. I’m glad you liked. Where are you from, if you don’t mind me asking. Next time you visit you may want to buy some homemade jams. They are so very delicious.

      • We’re from Windsor Ontario. I actually did buy jam! There was a place in Rocky Harbour where I bought some wild blueberry jam – they hoped to have some partridgeberry ready in a few days – but – sadly we made a special trip back there and the berries still weren’t ready. 😦 I did get a couple of small jars from the Dark Tickle place, but I really wanted some that was made in someone’s kitchen! Since we had flown, I was limited in how much I could bring back – even so my husband had to pay a lot of money for his overweight bag. So many lovely things I would have liked to bring home.

        I always try and buy some jam when I’m away. When we went to Maine last summer, I brought home cases of it (and Maine-made mustard). Guess what everyone got for Christmas!

        I thoroughly enjoy your blog!

      • Thank you! I enjoy blogging whenever I can squeeze in a bit of time for it.
        Hope you come back to Newfoundland again for a visit. i am also hoping you had some bake apple while you were here. They have been on blog list but haven’t found the right opportunity yet. I love bake apple.

  4. Since I tasted this already I can vouch that your’s is simply the best one! You’ve outdone yourself with these photos and the blog brought me back wonderful memories. Great job! xox

Leave a Reply

