Saturdays…

_DSC0020

In the middle of almost every night the little feet hurry from her room. Still clutching on to her pink teddy, she tugs on the duvet and very sleepily says, “Mommy, I found you!” In the same way – still half asleep – I pull her up and snuggle her in between myself and her father. Sometimes – half asleep – I worry when she will learn to sleep in her bed all night … sometimes when I wake in the middle of the night I miss the warm little body wedged in. There will be a time in my life when no sleepy girl will ever say, “Mommy, I found you” in the middle of the night. There will be a time in my life when in the middle of the night I will be awake thinking about her and missing a part of me because perhaps she has moved away in a far away land to become herself, just like her Mommy did. Those nights will be hard, I realize that.

But, for now, the pleasure of waking up to a little sleeping beauty, warm and pouty faced from deep sleep, is still here. The peaceful little face (and arms and legs) is a pleasant reminder that this universe has a purpose. And on Satuday mornings – when no one needs to rush – we cuddle her and let her sleep in while we spoil ourselves with her presence. And when she awakes she is most delighted to see her father and say, “Daddy, you are here!”.
_DSC0030_DSC0032

Saturdays are good days. Saturday is the day that the family sits down together for every meal of the day, starting with breakfast. It is the day of the week when the meaning of breakfast becomes more than just the first meal of the day. Breakfasts become less mundane. And most Saturdays I make pancakes. We love pancakes in our house.

Saturdays are my true favourite.
_DSC0041
 Pear Pancake served with Rosemary Honey Syrup, and Greek Yogurt

Ingredients
  • D’Anjou pears: 2
  • Eggs: 2
  • Flour: 1.5 cups
  • Milk: 1.5 cups
  • Sugar: 4 tbsp
  • Unsalted butter: 3 tbsp, melted
  • Baking Powder: 1.75 tbsp
  • Salt: 1 tsp

Accompaniments:

  • Greek Yogurt
  • Rosemary Honey Syrup
Directions
  • Whisk the eggs with the milk.
  • Add the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and the melted butter and mix, taking care not to over mix.
  • Grate the peeled pears into the batter and stir to combine.
  • Over medium heat add butter in your griddle and pour the batter by spoonfuls.
  • Cook until bubbles appear on your pancakes and are golden on the bottom before flipping. Cook the other side for a few more minutes.
  • Serve hot with thick greek yogurt and honey rosemary syrup.
  • Enjoy!

_DSC0039

32 thoughts on “Saturdays…

  1. What a wonderful post. I think we’re having a lazy Saturday tomorrow so I’m going to try your recipe – yum. My lovely little snuggie baby who had tufty black hair and beady eyes is now my long legged super chef. She still likes a big girl cuddle every now and then but will soon do as you say and head off her own way. Life’s pieces of bitter sweetness?

  2. Ah, your story brings back fond memories of little pattering feet that made their way to my bed. You are right, it goes all too quickly. I don’t get snuggly people in my bed now, the big girl is living a long way from me (although she still likes to snuggle into bed with me when she’s home for the holidays) and the other two are much too ‘man’ now. Thanks for the idea of grating pear into pancakes! Saturday pancakes are the best.

  3. am going through the same phase though my 4 yrs old is not ready to leave our bed but soon this time would be over and I will miss his soft touch all night. am in love with your clicks too. gorgeous they are as is this recipe.

  4. I love this entry Deb. My sentiments exactly…about the little people crawling into our beds…I love it, and dread the day when I have to lie in bed wondering where they are and if they are ok. Recipe sounds gorgeous too. xxx

  5. My favourite day of the week by far. I do the shopping and have breakfast out with one or other daughter, occasionally both. We used to buy our fish at a place called the Ice House. We have to gone there in years but, the outing is still called the “Ice House trip”. Most valuable memories.
    Best,
    Conor

  6. The photographs and the recipes were wonderful but the story is priceless; “Mommy, I found you” – be still my heart! I know every bit of what you’re saying and now that my “littlest” is almost 6 and I can hardly lift him to carry him to bed when he falls asleep next to me on the couch, I find myself missing that little toddler that used to come and find me in the middle of the night. I love who my kids are becoming and am enjoying how big they are getting but can’t help but miss those babies just a little. Thanks for the reminder and the memory … now I’m going to get a tissue.

  7. Danielle: They grow so fast, so so fast. Not a day goes by where I stand and think that this is only for a brief moment in our lives. They grow up to be beautiful people but no matter what when they are babies they are just a little bit closer to God.

Leave a Reply

