A Night of Lights

I miss the sunny winter days when fireworks would be laid out to dry in the sun. I miss the smell of gunpowder. I miss the anticipation. I miss lighting the first sparkler of Diwali and watch the rays of light spiral down.

I miss standing in the middle of the garden at night, squinting my eyes to catch the blurry dazzling outline of our house, lit up with candles and oil lamps. I miss lighting those candles for Diwali.

I miss the sight of lights that outshine the stars above –  the lights that illuminate every home for Diwali.

I miss the soul of Diwali on the night sky and on the land.

I miss the end of the Diwali night, when the stark beauty of a dark blue night fails to please.

I miss home.

But I do have near me a little girl, who outshines everything else in this life.

Have a safe and Happy Diwali.

Mohanthal: Chickpea flour fudge, a traditional Diwali sweet. Thanking Manisha Shaw, member of the Gastronomic L’Affaire for the inspiration.

YOU NEED:

  • Chickpea flour: 1 1/2 cup
  • Ghee: 1/2 cup
  • Condensed Milk: 200gms or 1 cup
  • Milk: 2 tbsp
  • Cardamom Powder: 2 tsp, or 1/8 tsp pf saffron
  • Almond and Pistachio: 1/2 cup mixed

HERE’S HOW:

  • Melt the ghee in the pan over medium heat and add the chickpea flour.
  • Slow roast by continuos stirring and mixing the flour till it takes on a light brown colour. Careful not to burn.
  • Let the saffron or the cardamom powder sit in the 2tbsp milk for 5-10 mins.
  • Add cardamom or the saffron milk and condensed milk and cook on low heat till it leaves the side of the pan.
  • Transfer to a well greased baking tray.
  • Smooth top. Sprinkle the nuts.
  • Cool completely.
  • Cut into square or diamond shapes for a traditional look, or as you fancy.
  • Enjoy at room temperature or slightly warmed in the microwave.

30 thoughts on “A Night of Lights

  1. As usual chobi dekhe mone hocche banai…… very apt description of feelings during any festival that remind you of home….happy diwali in advance.

  2. Happy Diwali!
    Your pictures are incredible! I love the chickpea flour fudge!
    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

  3. Pingback: Happy Diwali! | artandkitchen

Leave a Reply

