You can always run it off…

What do a bunch of health-conscious ladies do when they get together on a Saturday night? A Royal Pig-Out.

“Make something chocolaty, very chocolaty!” the request came in. Another excuse for me to bake a cake!

The girls have been on a healthy-living mission since September. They walk, run, exercise, eat healthy and do yoga. A path to holy re-incarnation of the body and mind! They inspire each other as much as they inspire others around them.

They are running around like professionals these days. M. said ‘Back in September I never thought I’d be running, leave alone running around Quidi Vidi lake [4 km] without stopping!’  J., T. and R. are signed up for a 15K race in Halifax. Running around like mad for sure! (I have not run two steps, if you are wondering.) Someday, when a dinosaur chases me – or if Winners has an 80% discount on – I shall run faster than any of you, I am sure!

The ladies are also into yoga; the hot kind where you painfully stretch your body to new lengths in an oven overheated room. Moksha Yoga in downtown St. John’s is minting money from this group of health nuts.

Here I am, a native of the Birthplace of Yoga. If anyone should be doing yoga, it should be me. My mother at 64 and my grandmother (Dida) at 89 are both on a daily yoga regimen. I should be ashamed. Naaah! Yoga is for “yogis” and I have a particular picture of a strange yogi I met as a child in Gomukh in the northernmost part of India; the association is not the least bit compelling (I still have an irrational fear of yogis).

So here’s what I came up with for the ladies, those who inspire me to bake a beautiful cake and help me lose weight by not skipping my meals. Good luck at the race! Just goes to say, if you put your mind to it, you can do anything. So being the least bit athletic, how did I manage to get invited to this Pig Out Night? Call it the Magic of Chocolate!

Flourless Chocolate Cake

Recipe originally adapted from Martha Stewart, changed with slight variation over time.

You Need:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 8 ounces good quality bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped(preferably Lindt)
  • 6 large eggs ( 2 whole eggs and 4 yolks separated)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • Coco powder, for dusting
  • 1 and 1/2 cup sweetened whipped cream, for serving
  • Chocolate flowers for garnish

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F with the rack in the center. Line the bottom of a 9-inch springform pan with parchment. Set aside.
  2. Place butter and chocolate in a large heatproof bowl and microwave in 30-second increments, stirring each time, until completely melted. Let cool slightly. Whisk in 2 whole eggs and 4 egg yolks with half the sugar.
  3. In a large bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form. I used a stand mixer with balloon whip attachment.Gradually add granulated sugar, and continue beating until glossy stiff peaks form.
  4. Whisk 1/4 of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture; then gently fold in remaining egg whites.
  5. Pour batter into the prepared pan, and smooth the top with a rubber spatula. Bake until the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan and is set in the center, 45 to 50 minutes. Let the cake cool in the pan on a cooling rack. The center of the cake will subside – this is intended. When the cake is cooled, loosen the cake from the sides of the pan with a knife and release the sides of the pan.
  6. Serve at room temperature, dusted with confectioners’ sugar. Top with whipped cream, dust with coco powder and decorate with chocolate flowers if desired.
9 thoughts on “You can always run it off…

  1. All true and the cake was delicious! Thanks for the beautiful words and pictures…..signed by the girls who are “running it off”.

  2. Beautiful cake! I see our recipes are practically the same, although the sources are different – yours from Martha, mine from Nigella. Goes to show that when it comes to chocolate, butter, sugar and eggs, one just can’t go wrong! Thank you for stopping by Life Through the Kitchen Window. You have a lovely blog, and I’m going to enjoy following it!

Leave a Reply

