Say “Cheese” for a Giveaway

_DSC0616

I must admit I am a bit of a fan of theirs, for I am yet to be disappointed. When their Rosenborg Brie was introduced to the market, I was asked for my opinion. Canadian cheese maker Castello has yet another cheese to add to its ever-increasing roster.

I immensely enjoy soft cheeses, especially ones that have a tendency to melt in the mouth and have a delicate taste. A good brie is one of those. A good brie is pure sophistication.

 _DSC0619

Castello’s Rosenborg Brie has a delicate floral hint that makes it easy to pair with a variety of fruit, nuts and chutney. It pairs well with a Chardonney, or even a Pinot Noir. Like any good brie this is equally good served at room temperature or baked. This cheese was surprisingly versatile. When I first brought home the little rounds of cheese I wasn’t sure if I should bake them encased in puff pastry, fry them coated in sesame seeds, melt them in a panini with cranberries and chocolate or enjoy them just as they are on a good baguette. Castello’s Brie is beautiful that way – both versatile and genuine.

But, I must confess I loved this brie served at room temperature with lots of runny honey, toasted pecans, a few tart partridgeberries and a crisp pear. To me it is an effortless appetizer to serve during the holidays .. or to indulge yourself for working so hard during this season.

 Castello Brie_DSC0640

So, here is a treat for you for working tirelessly to make sure everyone is happy this season  - a serving of velvety soft round brie that melts into a creamy aromatic goodness that you don’t have to share with anyone else if you don’t want to.  All you have to do is enter the giveaway and Castello will make sure you get your little prize!

The only drawback is that they only have these lovely things available in a small size (125g) – like individual portions . I guess they didn’t want folks to fight over a large one.

 _DSC0644

To enter the giveaway, please leave a comment below stating your favourite holiday hors d’oeuvre. I will randomly select one winner who will receive a custom Castello cheese board and a $25 gift voucher from Castello cheeses. You have until Wednesday November 27 to enter.  I will announce the winner in the comments section and on my Facebook page shortly after. The winner of the giveaway is comment number 9, randomly chosen by my little one – Ratna Roy.

Disclamer: Due to the nature of this gift, Castello will only be able to ship within Canada. Castello’s Brie is available in most Canadian supermarkets. Thank You!

14 thoughts on “Say “Cheese” for a Giveaway

  1. Cheese is probably my absoulte favourite thing in the world…doesn’t matter what kind…runny, soft, hard, rind on, rind off, mild, stinky…you name it, I love it. ONE of my favourite holiday appetizers is a goat cheese and chive mousse crostini with caramelized onions, and a splash of balsamic reduction….mmmm…now I’m hungry and dying to try this cheese.

    • You the winner of the giveaway! My three year old randomly choose your comment number as the winner. Congratulations! Can you please send me your postal address via e-mail (dassstgeorge@gmail.com)so your prize can be sent to you by Castello. :)

  2. Pork fingers are a favorite of mine and of many people I know 😄 Made with ground pork and bacon wrapped, these are delicious dipped in plum or cherry sauce ( or any sauce of your choosing) or even just as they are, they are always a hit! They freeze really well too so you can make a big batch and then pull out a platter full to reheat when company drops in,

  3. What a gorgeous, gorgeous post Debjani!! That last picture of the gorgeous brie with the honey and redcurrants is divine. Not sure how I have missed out on your blog in my wordpress feed for so long. It’s frustrating! But on the plus side, I have lots of gorgeous content to catch up on!! Hugs xx

Leave a Reply

